Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage is a no-fault automobile insurance benefit that will cover medical bills and other expenses associated with your car wreck no matter who was at fault. No-fault means that no matter who caused the accident, whether it be you or another driver, you can claim your PIP benefits and your insurance company cannot “subrogate”, or collect, from any other insurance to recover the money they paid. What this means for your accident is that whatever amount of money received through your PIP coverage should not affect the amount that you get from the liability, the insurance of the person who caused the accident if that was the case.
PIP coverage also extends to your passengers and will cover their healthcare expenses as well. Additionally, because PIP is a no-fault policy, your insurance rates will not go up when you file a claim.
Requirements for PIP in Texas
PIP policies in Texas have a minimum requirement of $2,500, but you can get higher coverages such as $5,000 or $10,000 if you would like the additional financial protection. Additionally, the policy limit extends to each person in the car.
For example, if you had PIP coverage of $2,500 in place and you and your spouse get hit by another driver, your insurance would cover up to $2,500 in expenses for you and $2,500 in expenses for your spouse.
What All Does PIP Cover?
In addition to paying for medical care, PIP can also cover the following:
- Ambulance services
- Rehabilitation therapies and services
- Funeral services
- Lost wages due to not being able to work from the accident (up to 80% of your current wages)
- Replacement of necessary services provided by the injured party, including child care or household maintenance
Is PIP Mandatory?
In Texas, PIP is not required – it is optional. By default, however, all Texas car insurance policies include the minimum PIP coverage - $2,500. But if you do not want the coverage, you must decline it in writing by signing a waiver.
Although PIP is not required, it’s still a wise decision to have it if you can afford it. According to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, it is estimated that 20 percent of Texas drivers do not have auto insurance.
Should All Wichita Falls, Texas Drivers Have PIP Coverage?
Given that you have a 1 in 5 chance of being hit by someone who doesn’t have insurance coverage, PIP is a solid investment. It’s relatively cheap and can provide you with some extra protection out there on the road. All drivers in Wichita Falls, and all of Texas for that matter, should have PIP if they can afford it.
What About PIP for Oklahoma?
Unfortunately, Oklahoma does not have PIP. An alternative for Oklahomans, however, may be MedPay.
Contact Wichita Falls Personal Injury Attorney
If you have been injured in an accident in Wichita Falls, or any where else in Texas or Oklahoma, contact our Wichita Falls law firm today at 940-569-4000 or fill out our contact form to set up a free, confidential, no-obligation consultation. We know what to look for and we will pursue all insurance that is available to you in order to maximize your injury claim.